Haryana21.com Logo

District Yamuna Nagar

District Yamuna nagar

YAMUNANAGAR district is one of the 22 districts of Haryana. The district came into existence on 1 November 1989 and occupies an area of 1,756 sq kms. Earlier the district Yamunanagar was known as Abdullapur. Yamunanagar city is the district headquarters.

The district is bounded by Uttar Pradesh in the east, Himachal Pradesh in the north, by Karnal in the south, by Kurukshetra in the southwest and Ambala district in the west.

The Yamunanagar district comprises three tehsils: Jagadhri, Chhachhrauli and Bilaspur. These tehsils are further divided into six development blocks: Bilaspur, Radaur, Sadhaura, Mustafabad, Jagadhri and Chhachhrauli.

There are four Vidhan Sabha constituencies in Yamunanagar district: Sadhaura, Jagadhri, Yamuna Nagar and Radaur. The Sadhaura, Jagadhri and Yamuna Nagar are part of Ambala Lok Sabha constituency and Radaur is a part of Kurukshetra Lok Sabha constituency.

As per 2011 census, the district has a population of 1,214,162. This gives it a ranking of 393rd in India (out of 640). This district has a population density of 687 inhabitants per sq km. Population growth rate of this district was 16.56%, over the decade 2001–2011. The district has a sex ratio of 877 females for every 1,000 males and a literacy rate of 79% (approx).


For Villages, Select Block :



[Terms ]     [Privacy]     [Contact Us]
Copyright 2011-2021 - Haryana21.com